The Power of Music

Lately, for some reason, I’ve been extremely sensitive to music. Maybe its the new ATH-A700s I bought for work or maybe its the enormous amounts of caffeine I’ve been ingesting with my tea. Who knows? Anyway, just thought I’d share some super-legit Chinese music.

徐佳莹 – 身骑白马

Somewhat of an old song by a past winner of 星光大道. The mix of Taiwanese “folk” music (歌仔戏) and Mandarin is extremely unique with a very touching story behind the Taiwanese (google 薛平贵与王宝钏 or 身骑白马过三关). When I first heard the Taiwanese chorus, it was just like SHUT IT DOWN LETS GO HOME. For those interested, here is the “Chinese Idol” version: 星光大道 – 徐佳莹 身骑白马

丁当 – 洋葱

Remarkable song with remarkable lyrics. The lyrics were written by the lead singer of Mayday (阿信), relating the layers of an onion with the secrets and layers of the heart. Many have criticized 阿信 for not being able to sing well, but honestly, if you can write lyrics like that, who cares if you can sing well. I also like how well 丁当’s voice matches with this song. Story of my life.

Beyond – 海阔天空

Probably the only Cantonese song that I really like – a song about pursuing dreams. The writer of the song (the used-to-be lead singer of Beyond) died in 1993, shortly after this song became famous. This concert was in 1996, I believe the first concert that Beyond went to without the lead singer. The guy in green is his brother. The emotion in this song is immense.

Lastly, lets end on a happier note:

王力宏 – 依然爱你

This song just makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

